Meet the ISI Fellows 2016!

Science Crossroads
Wednesday, October 5th, 2016
CRT Foundation, Via XX Settembre 31 – Torino (Italy)

Within the celebrations of the Premio Lagrange – Fondazione CRT 2016 (the winner John Brownstein will receive the Award in a special event, Thursday 6th October, at Teatro Regio in Torino), ISI Foundation is proud to announce the scientists who will join the fourth round of ISI Fellow program. They are Luca Maria Aiello (Bell Labs), David Gutelius (The Data Guild), Alessia Melegaro (Università Bocconi) and Wouter Van den Broeck (iMinds).

ISI Fellow program selects top scholars to be external members of the ISI Foundation research community, in order to collaborate on scientific problems that span across disciplines (math, physics, biology, social sciences, humanities) in the pursuit of breaking new grounds at the forefront of complex systems and network science, data and computational science, information technologies, computational epidemiology & public health, and statistical physics. ISI Fellows are selected according to their scientific excellence and synergy with the scientific activities carried within the ISI Foundation and they are awarded this title for three years, along with funding support to spend visiting period at the ISI Foundation and foster the collaboration with ISI resident scientists.

Wednesday 5th October, new ISI Fellows will join Science Crossroads, a meeting where it will be discussed how the growing connectedness enabled by technological and social changes is providing science with new challenges and consequent opportunities, which requires leveraging the diverse knowledge accumulated across the array of scientific domains. The meeting will be opened by Massimo Lapucci (Fondazione CRT) and Alessandro Vespignani (ISI Foundation Chair of the Science Board), with final speech by ISI Foundation President Mario Rasetti.


  • 14:30 M. Lapucci
  • 14:55 A. Vespignani
  • 15:20 R. Baeza-Yates
  • 15:45 Coffee
  • 16:00 F. Provost
  • 16:35 O. Sporns
  • 16:55 Discussion
  • 17:10 L. M. Aiello
  • 17:35 A. Melegaro
  • 18:00 W. Van den Broeck
  • 18:25 D. Gutelius
  • 18:50 M. Rasetti
  • 19:30 Buffet

Contributions by

  • Massimo Lapucci
  • Alessandro Vespignani
  • Ricardo Baeza-Yates
  • Foster Provost
  • Olaf Sporns
  • Luca Maria Aiello
  • Alessia Melegaro
  • Wouter Van Den Broeck
  • David Gutelius

Attendance confirmation to